Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Recommendations – Blood Kissed, by Keri Arthur (2017).

This could be interesting! Could be something to take a look at. Witches and Werewolves always make an awesome read 📖👍🔮📚

From what I can tell from the description it should be quite an adventure 😊

Blood Kissed by Keri Arthur.

Blurb

In a world where magic and science sit side by side, and powerful witches are considered necessary aides for all governments, Lizzie Grace is something of an outlier. Though born into one the most powerful blue blood witch families, she wants nothing to do with either her past or her magic.

But when she and Belle, her human familiar and best friend, open a small cafe in the Faelan werewolf reservation, she quickly finds herself enmeshed in the hunt for a vampire intent on wreaking bloody havoc.

It’s a hunt that soon becomes personal, and one that is going to take all her skills to survive–that’s if the werewolves, who hate all things witch, don’t get her first.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions – Etched in Bone, by Anne Bishop (2017).

This looks to be a good read according to reviews I have read and the description on Kindle. This is something I’m going to have to add to my reading list. I have never read Anne Bishop but there is a first time for everything 👌👍🙌🤔

Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop.

Blurb

After a human uprising was brutally put down by the Elders—a primitive and lethal form of the Others—the few cities left under human control are far-flung. And the people within them now know to fear the no-man’s-land beyond their borders—and the darkness…

As some communities struggle to rebuild, Lakeside Courtyard has emerged relatively unscathed, though Simon Wolfgard, its wolf shifter leader, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn must work with the human pack to maintain the fragile peace. But all their efforts are threatened when Lieutenant Montgomery’s shady brother arrives, looking for a free ride and easy pickings.

With the humans on guard against one of their own, tensions rise, drawing the attention of the Elders, who are curious about the effect such an insignificant predator can have on a pack. But Meg knows the dangers, for she has seen in the cards how it will all end—with her standing beside a grave.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions – The Betrayal of Arthur by Sara Douglass (2013).

Having always been a big fan of Sara Douglass, especially the Troy game series, I know this one will be another hit. She seems to have a real knack for medieval retells.

I think all fantasy fans would enjoy this 😉

The Betrayal of Arthur by Sara Douglass

On the cover

From the manuscripts of a twelfth-century English cleric to a New York bestseller, tales of King Arthur and his court permeate our world. But where did the stories start and how much is true? Were Guinevere and Lancelot traitors? Was Merlin a wise man or magician? And was King Arthur a great and glorious king or a tragic man doomed from conception?

Sara Douglass, a leading writer of fantasy, pierces the heat of this legend. A scholar and academic in medieval history, she explores the fascination, manipulation and permutations of this captivating myth that has intrigued the western world for centuries.

The Betrayal of Arthur is an enchanting exploration of Arthurian legend, twentieth-century sensibilities and the medieval mind.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions – The Vixen’s Lead, by Tate James (2017).

This looks like something that I would really enjoy. The Cover really catches the eye but the Blurb really draws you in. Great look 👀🙌👍💯📚

The Vixen’s Lead by Tate James.

Blurb.

I want vengeance so badly that I can almost taste it. It’s all I’ve ever wanted. So, I did what anyone in my unique position would do. I slapped on a secret identity and became an internationally renowned thief, known as The Fox. Nobody knows me. Nobody can catch me.

Or so I thought…

It turns out; I have what they want. Special abilities. And trust me, these abilities are coveted–and dangerous. Now, I don’t know who to trust or where to go. Peril lurks on every corner as I try to uncover my past and origin. Teaming up with unlikely allies may be my only chance at survival or my biggest mistake. Only time will tell.

I’m Kit Davenport and this is only the beginning.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions – The Tangled Lands, by Paola Bacigalupi and Tobias S. Buckell (2018).

This book has had some nice acclaim. Could be one of this year’s bublications that is worth checking out!

The Tangled Lands by Paola Bacigalupi and Tobias S. Buckell.

Blurb.

Khaim clings to life. Flooded with refugees and slowly starving, the last city of a once-great empire is surrounded by a choking thicket of toxic bramble. This is a world poisoned by magic. Every time a spell is cast, the bramble advances, sprouting in tilled fields and roof beams, thrusting up from between cobblestones and bursting forth from sacks of powdered spice. A bit of magic, and bramble follows. A little at first, and then more – until whole cities are dragged down under tangling vines. Armies hack and burn… but in a world that can’t give up magic’s sweet succour, the bramble can’t be stopped.

Or can it? After ten years of research, an alchemist believes he has found a potent new weapon to wield against the bramble. His invention promises freedom from fear, freedom from hunger, freedom from the rule of Khaim’s tyrant, the Jolly Mayor. But these are twisted times – there are no easy answers, only unforeseen consequences…

Award-winning authors Paolo Bacigalupi and Tobias S. Buckell have created a radical and darkly relevant fantasy, conjuring the collapse of a civilization, smothered by its addictions. This is a world of glittering memories and a desperate present, where everyone uses just a little magic… and someone else always pays the price.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions – The Grey Bastards by Jonathan French (2018).

This book has been flashing on my twitter feed of late so I decided it necessary to take a look. With top reviews from amazing authors like Mark Lawrence, how was supposed to walk away from adding this to my must read list.

‘Filthy, charismatic, and frankly excellent’ – Mark Lawrence

The Grey Bastards by Jonathan French (2018).

On The Back

BRING ON THE ORCS . . .

Jackal is proud to be a Grey Bastard, member of a sworn brotherhood of half-orcs. Unloved and unwanted in civilized society, the Bastards eke out a hard life in the desolate no-man’s-land called the Lots, protecting frail and noble human civilization from invading bands of vicious full-blooded orcs.

But as Jackal is soon to learn, his pride may be misplaced. Because a dark secret lies at the heart of the Bastards’ existence – one that reveals a horrifying truth behind humanity’s tenuous peace with the orcs, and exposes a grave danger on the horizon.

On the heels of the ultimate betrayal, Jackal must scramble to stop a devastating invasion – even as he wonders where his true loyalties lie.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions – Lake Silence by Anne Bishop (2018).

If the book Cover is anything to go by, then this should be a fantastic read. One of 2018 releases, Lake Silence is said to be a suspenseful fantasy set in an Other world. Sounds like it’s right up my alley 👌👌👍

Lake Silence by Anne Bishop.

Blurb

Human laws do not apply in the territory controlled by the Others–vampires, shape-shifters, and even deadlier paranormal beings. And this is a fact that humans should never, ever forget….

After her divorce, Vicki DeVine took over a rustic resort near Lake Silence, in a human town that is not human controlled. Towns such as Vicki’s don’t have any distance from the Others, the dominant predators who rule most of the land and all of the water throughout the world. And when a place has no boundaries, you never really know what is out there watching you.

Vicki was hoping to find a new career and a new life. But when her lodger, Aggie Crowe–one of the shape-shifting Others–discovers a murdered man, Vicki finds trouble instead. The detectives want to pin the death on her, despite the evidence that nothing human could have killed the victim. As Vicki and her friends search for answers, ancient forces are roused by the disturbance in their domain. They have rules that must not be broken–and all the destructive powers of nature at their command.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions – Soulsmith, by William Wight (2016).

This doesn’t look too bad🤔

Have added this to my possibly list. I haven’t heard of William Wight as yet but the description makes me curious.

A strange land and the promise of adventure! Could be good! 👌

Soulsmith by Will Wight.

Blurb

Outside Sacred Valley, ancient ruins rise from the earth, drawing sacred artists from miles around to fight for the treasures within.

Lindon has reached Copper, taking the first step on the road to power, but the warriors of the outside world are still far beyond him.

To advance, he turns to the arcane skills of the Soulsmiths, who craft weapons from the stuff of souls. With new powers come new enemies, and Lindon soon finds himself facing an entire sect of Golds.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions – First Year by Rachel E. Carter (2017).

This looks great and the description sounds like a great young adult series.

Blurb

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice –pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail–first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions – Mage Strike, by R. K. Thorne (2016).

The covers for this series look fantastic. I will have to find out if the book is as good as good as it looks!

Mage Strike, by R. K. Thorne.

Blurb.

The hard part should have been over. Former slave Miara and Crown Prince Aven have escaped with their freedom and their lives. From kidnapper and captive, they’ve grown into a powerful partnership. And they’ve returned to the mountain fortress of Estun, triumphant, to warn his people of the rising menace just across their border.

But escape was only the first step. War looms. Hundreds of mages still live in slavery. Neither the king nor the queen believes the people will support a foreign spy as crown princess, no matter how loyal Miara truly is. And enemy agents plot to keep Aven from the throne by any means necessary, be they mundane—or murderous.

On top of it all, the Dark Master has plans of his own: to enslave a vast mage army bound to his will alone. To obliterate all knowledge of the forbidden star magic, no matter the cost. And to get a little revenge too, while he’s at it.

Powerful new enemies, tenacious new allies, and earth-shaking magic join Aven and Miara in this second volume of the Enslaved Chronicles.

To check this out on Kindle click here

👍📚📖