Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Ideas: A bed of Blades, by Kate Avery Ellison (2016).

This cover stole my heart at first glance. I feel this alone makes this worth taking a second look. Amazing ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ‘€

Book Two in The Kingmakers’ War, a series perfect for fans of Throne of Glass and Game of Thrones. ~ Kindle

Synopsis

Briand Varryda hasn’t seen Kael and his company of Monarchists since they succeeded in destroying the Barrow Bridge and thwarting the march of the enemy. She’s been hidden away for two years with the Hermit, forgotten. But when the Hermit protecting her is killed, she flees, hiding among thieves from the insidious Seekers.

Briand doesn’t want to be a pawn for the Monarchists or the Seekers. She doesn’t want to pick a side in the war. She simply wants to live and be free.

When another thief betrays her, Briand makes a deal for her freedom and joins another Monarchist plot with the enigmatic Kael to steal a legendary treasure from a dragon-infested cave. But there are problems. She might have feelings for Kael. The Seekers are pursuing them. The caverns rest beneath an estate of perilous dangers.

And Briand has secrets of her own.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Ideas: Gold Iron, by Miles Cameron (2018).

Tea cover of this novel really caught my eye and in reading the Synopsis I think this could turn out to be quite an interesting title ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿ‘€ ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ’œ โญ๏ธ ๐Ÿ’ฏ

Synopsis

Aranthur is a student. He showed a little magical talent, is studying at the local academy, and is nothing particularly special. Others are smarter. Others are more talented. Others are quicker to pick up techniques. But none of them are with him when he breaks his journey home for the holidays in an inn. None of them step in to help when a young woman is thrown off a passing stage coach into the deep snow at the side of the road. And none of them are drawn into a fight to protect her.

One of the others might have realised she was manipulating him all along . . .

A powerful story about beginnings, coming of age, and the way choosing to take one step towards violence can lead to a slippery and dangerous slope, this is an accomplished fantasy series driven by strong characters and fast-paced action.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Ideas: Frostblood, by Elly Blake (2017).

This could be good. Magical intrigue and wars because of race and blood. Ruby, a Fireblood is about to embark on adventure taking reader into a mysterious world of Ice.

๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ‘€

Synopsis

Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies…

Ruby is a Fireblood. In a land ruled by frost, her very existence is a crime. She’s spent her whole life in hiding.

Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.

She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus – a Frostblood rebel – by her side. But with alliances between flame and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?

Ruby will only have one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot her fire will burn…

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: The Darkest Part Of The Forest, by Holly Black (2015).

This is a pretty cool looking cover, and the tittle is definitely worth taking a second look at ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘€

Something for the young adult genre โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜Š

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author and co-creator of the Spiderwick Chronicles, Holly Black spins a dark, dangerous and utterly beautiful faerie tale, guaranteed to steal your heart.

~ Kindle

Synopsis

Faeries. Knights. Princes. True love. Think you know how the story goes? Think again…

Near the little town of Fairfold, in the darkest part of the forest, lies a glass casket. Inside the casket lies a sleeping faerie prince that none can rouse. He’s the most fascinating thing Hazel and her brother Ben have ever seen. They dream of waking him – but what happens when dreams come true? In the darkest part of the forest, you must be careful what you wish for…

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Recommendations: The Winter Road, by Adrian Selby (2018).

This looks like it may be worth taking a closer look. ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘โญ๏ธ

The greatest empire of them all began with a road. ~ Kindle

Synopsis

The Circle – a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try.

With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr’s battles may not be over yet . . .

All roads lead back to war.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Recommendations: Shadow Weaver, by Claire Merle (2017).

Great Cover ๐Ÿ‘Œ ๐Ÿ’ฏ ๐Ÿ“š โญ๏ธ

Something for the young adult genre that could most definitely be worth a closer look.

A compelling new world of action-packed, character-driven adventure from #1 Fantasy Author on Wattpad and #1 Bestselling Amazon author in Sword & Sorcery. 
B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree 

~ Kindle

Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Mirra can see people’s memories. She is a Shadow Weaver, one of the outlawed, glitter-eyed race feared in her land and forced into brutal slavery as children. She and her brother Kel have escaped their fate by hiding near the frozen mountains. But when bounty hunters snatch Kel, Mirra injured and unable to track long distances will lose him unless she gives herself up to his captors. As a Shadow Weaver who’s survived childhood and whose golden-flecked irises have faded, concealing her talent, Mirra’s own value is priceless on the black-market.

Taken to a lawless town in the northern territories, Mirra convinces her captors to sell her to a mysterious young man destined for the same province as the officer who has bought her brother. The young man is the kingdom’s missing Prince, feared dead after his escort was attacked on an expedition. He has been in hiding, waiting for a Shadow Weaver whose skill he can use to discover who ordered his assassination. But before he will risk breaking his father’s law and taking Mirra to the royal court, he must test her talent and her ability to hide it. If Mirra fails, her hopes of seeing her brother again will be cut by the noose around her neck.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: silver Moon by Rebecca A. Rogers (2012).

An unlikely change is about to occur, and Candra finds her whole world turned upside down. Between werewolves and strange powers, life is going to become very different.

Looks like a good series ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ“š โœ๏ธ โญ๏ธ ๐Ÿ’ฏ ๐Ÿ‘€

Synopsis

For seventeen-year-old Candra Lowell, senior year is supposed to be the time of her life. Itโ€™s not supposed to include being shipped off to her aunt and uncleโ€™s house for ‘her own good’. Whatever that means. Thereโ€™s only bad news from this experienceโ€”when she learns sheโ€™ll go from human to werewolf in a few months. Complete with an inherited unique power.

At her aunt and uncle’s house, Candra is plagued with nightmares of a whispering forest and glowing eyes, and a shadowy figure, who issues a warningโ€”she needs to leave town. Candra tries to dismiss the haunting images, but when the shadowy figure appears outside of her home, Candra realizes she should’ve obeyed.

Candra learns the meaning of the stalkerโ€™s warnings when she discovers sheโ€™s the new favorite target of a rival pack. She isn’t just a werewolfโ€”she’s a werewolf in the middle of a feud that makes the Montagues and Capulets look like best friends. Sheโ€™s also made a mess of things by falling for her sworn enemy. Worse, the rival pack wants the power Candra will receive on her eighteenth birthday. To protect her family and friends, Candra canโ€™t run or hide; she must face her foes, even if it means death.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: City of Brass, bys S. A. Chakraborty (2017).

Described as spellbounding, the tittle of this novel is what caught my eye ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ‘€

Might be worth a closer look ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ‘โญ๏ธ

Synopsis

Among the bustling markets of eighteenth century Cairo, the cityโ€™s outcasts eke out a living swindling rich Ottoman nobles and foreign invaders alike.

But alongside this new world the old stories linger. Tales of djinn and spirits. Of cities hidden among the swirling sands of the desert, full of enchantment, desire and riches. Where magic pours down every street, hanging in the air like dust.

Many wish their lives could be filled with such wonder, but not Nahri. She knows the trades she uses to get by are just tricks and sleights of hand: thereโ€™s nothing magical about them. She only wishes to one day leave Cairo, but as the saying goesโ€ฆ

Be careful what you wish for.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions: Unleashed, by Bella Jacobs (2018).

This looks fantastic. Fabulous cover and the Synopsis reads great. Check it out below ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ”ฅ

One woman on the run. Four dangerously sexy bodyguards. And a war brewing that will change the shifter world forever… ~ Kindle

Synopsis.

I’m living on borrowed time, fighting for survival against a deadly new virus that has no cure and a cult doing its best to brainwash me. But when a mysterious note shows up on my windowsill one night, its chilling message–Run, Wren–launches me out of the frying pan and into the fire.

Within hours, everything I thought I knew about my life, my family, and my origins is obliterated, and I’m racking up enemies at an alarming rate. Between the cult I’ve just escaped, a violent shifter faction out for my blood, and an ancient evil who eats “chosen ones” like me for breakfast, my last hope is to join forces with four dangerous-looking men who claim they were sent to guard my life.

Luke, a werewolf with a rap sheet. Creedence, a lynx shifter who never met a mark he couldn’t con. Kite, a bear kin with a mean right hook and heart of gold. And Dust, my childhood best friend and dude voted least likely to be a secret shape-shifting griffin.

But are these men really what they seem?

Or are my alpha guardians hiding a secret agenda of their own?

I’m not sure, but one thing is for certain–choosing the right allies will mean the difference between life and death. For me, and everyone I love.