Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Silent Kingdom, Rachel L. Shade (2018).

This sounds fantastic! 📖⭐️🧐😊👍👏🔥💯📚

Chosen by truth. Marked for death. Halia must choose to save her kingdom, or let it fall. ~ Kindle.

Synopsis

Misroth’s king has died, and the entire kingdom is in mourning–or so it seems. After her father is crowned regent in his brother’s stead, Princess Halia discovers a terrible truth that could end her life. But when she flees to live in hiding, she discovers that the Royal Guard are not all she has to fear. Dark creatures stalk her, reports of oppression and war reach her ears, and her burden to protect her kingdom–at any cost–will not be silenced.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Ruthless Magic, by Megan Crewe (2018).

The cover looks brilliant and the book description has definitely peaked my interest. Could be worth a closer look ⭐️📚👍👏🔥💯👀📖😊

Synopsis

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Sowing, by Angie Grigaliunas (2016).

Rated highly amongst well known authors, Sowing looks like it could be worth checking out 🤗 👌 🤔 👀 📚

They can take your house, your daughter, whatever they want. ~ Kindle

Synopsis

For Ariliah, life under the militarized Hulcondans is one of order and safety. Despite the soldiers’ ruthless policies, she trusts their judgment. They alone provide protection from the enemies lurking beyond the city wall.

For her older sister, Rabreah, every glance from a Hulcondan is a threat. Though even a whisper against them is treason worthy of death, Rabreah is determined to end their tyranny. Joining an underground resistance is her only hope – until she realizes she doesn’t know the people she’s aligned herself with at all. Unsure who to trust but unable to back out, she must work alongside the attractive yet infuriating rebel leader who reminds her far too much of the soldiers she hates.

But with subversive posters appearing throughout the city and people dying on the blade of an unknown assailant, the sisters’ world begins to crumble.

And as the line between friend and enemy blurs, both girls must face the truth: everything is about to change.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Verity, by Claire Farrell (2011).

Perdy is a teenage girl still in school, and who’s home life is far from what’s considered “happy families”. However, it looks like everything is set to change. Claire Farrell has written a great read in Verity, which is also the first of what seems to be a pretty good Werewolf series directed at young adults.

The plot line is fairly simple and it follows the familiar purpose of the main characters finding out and realising who is, and isn’t, a Werewolf. But the twist is the Gypsy Curse that is inflicted on Nathan’s family, the new boy at school. It isn’t long before Perdy realises that the curse also involves her. But that’s after she finds her supposed best friend has gone mad and her whole life has turned completely upside-down!

Basically this has been an easy read with the basic plot of boy meets girl, boy turns into Werewolf and someone gets hurt! With a few extra twists and turns that keep the reader interested. The grammar isn’t the best but the book is more detailed for you do adults than to the older reader. Each of the main characters are developed simply giving readers only a basic connection, though admittedly Perdy is starting to grow on me. I would recommend this title to any young adult branching out in the realms of the fantasy genre. I give this book a rating of 6/10 stars.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Red’s Alpha’s, M.H. Soars (2018).

This looks like a really good series. I have come across some good Werewolf books of late. This could be another great find 😊👍📚⭐️📖🔥👏

Synopsis

What if Red Riding Hood didn’t fall in love with one Big Bad Wolf but three?

I’ve been a city girl my entire life. But when my grandmother got sick, I didn’t think twice before packing my bags and moving to Crimson Hollow, a small town in West Virginia. Two years later, I’m still here and finally adjusting to the quiet life.

Only there’s nothing ordinary about this town.

A walk in the woods proved almost deadly and left me changed forever. I was attacked by a rogue wolf, and now, I belong to the Crimson Hollow pack. I’m a shifter.

To make matters worse, my arrival in the pack created a rift among the wolves, making it impossible to tell friend from foe, including the three alpha’s sons who have taken a keen interest in me. If dealing with all that wasn’t enough, wolves are disappearing. We must discover who is behind it, or there won’t be a pack left to fight over.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Blackwing, by Ed McDonald (2017).

This has been highly rated by many of my favourite authors such as Mark Lawrence. Could be another book to add to my #mustread list 👍🔥💯📚⭐️✍️📖👀

Synopsis

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow’s Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer’s legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard’s paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.

The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall’s ‘Engine’, a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery – a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic’s defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic’s bluff.

To check this out on Kindle click here