Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Suggestions: The Legend of the Kestrel, by Peter Wacht

Light dances with dark, green fire burns in the night, hopes and dreams follow the wind, to fall in black or white.

Abstract

As his skill in the Talent grows and he learns the ways of the Sylvana, men and women dedicated to protecting the Kingdoms from the Shadow Lord and the Dark Horde, he bears the burden of having to return to the Highlands to reclaim his proper place. He befriends a Highlander who would die for him, struggles with his love for a princess with a mind of her own who will betray him, and tries to piece together the puzzle of his life — while the High King’s assassins, aided by the minions of the Shadow Lord, pursue him.

Thomas discovers that not only must he stand against a High King bent on conquering the Kingdoms, but also the Shadow Lord, a creature of ancient evil who threatens to unleash a time of darkness and sorrow on the land. Thomas is torn by his desire to lead his own life and his duty to a people who view him with suspicion and fear. He knows that doing the right thing will only push him farther away from the life he wants for himself — and closer to his own death.

Does he have the inner strength to accept his fate and free a people that never had any use for him? Can he prevent the Dark Horde from descending on the Kingdoms and extinguishing the light forever? Does he have the courage and skill to stand against the Shadow Lord?

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Suggestions: The Choice of Magic, Michael G. Manning (2019).

This was recommended to me by a friend. Could be worth checking out 👍👌📚📖

Abstract

The ancient magic of wizards was anything but dark. It was the enlightenment that lifted humanity from the squalor of superstition, and the worship of fell spirits and capricious gods, but those days are gone. The shining glory of the sorcerers burned away the subtlety of wisdom, replacing it with easy power, held only in the hands of the elite—a new age built upon the elemental supremacy of aristocrats and the ignorance of the masses.

But this will change, for the greatest power comes with knowledge, and the deeper teachings of wizardry have not been utterly lost. The last wizard of the old tradition still survives in solitude, nursing tired grudges and waiting for death.

His passing might have gone unnoticed, but for the imposition of a youth too stubborn to accept his refusal to take an apprentice. With a new student comes new hope, and that hope has caused old powers to stir again. That the world will change is inevitable, but the shape of the future is anything but certain.

Check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Recommendations: Storm Glass, by Jeff Wheeler (2019).

This is one of the best book covers I have seen this year. Definitely gives the imagination a boost. Reviews I have seen say that the content is consistent with awesomeness of the cover! 👌🤪📚💫📖⭐️

Abstract

Theirs is a world of opposites. The privileged live in sky manors held aloft by a secretive magic known only as the Mysteries. Below, the earthbound poor are forced into factory work to maintain the engine of commerce. Only the wealthy can afford to learn the Mysteries, and they use their knowledge to further lock their hold on society.

Cettie Pratt is a waif doomed to the world below, until an admiral attempts to adopt her. But in her new home in the clouds, not everyone treats her as one of the family.

Sera Fitzempress is a princess born into power. She yearns to meet the orphan girl she has heard so much about, but her father deems the girl unworthy of his daughter’s curiosity.

Neither girl feels that she belongs. Each seeks to break free of imposed rules. Now, as Cettie dreams of living above and as Sera is drawn to the world below, they will follow the paths of their own choosing.

But both girls will be needed for the coming storm that threatens to overturn both their worlds.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Reading Ideas: Uncrowned, by Will Wight (2019).

I feel this could be worth the read 👏👀📖📚⭐️👍👌☺️

Abstract

The Monarchs, the most powerful sacred artists on Cradle, rule with unquestioned authority. They are mysterious and distant, and catching a glimpse of one is privilege enough for a lifetime.

Now, they have all gathered in one place, bringing their heirs and greatest students together for a competition to determine whose successor is the best in the world:

The Uncrowned King tournament.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Shadowless, by Randall McNally (2017).

This is most definitely a fantastically original novel by an intriguing author. Shadowless is a clever an inventive story based on the idea that Gods are quite evil and have committed so very horrific crimes on the humans over which they preside. One heinous act is to rape mortal women, bringing about children born with magic in their blood, abilities and skills of the God who fathered them. All this bit minus the very important Shadow.

The novel is written in a way that I found to be quite confusing. In a way, it comes across as several different stories only coming together much later in the book. I am honestly unsure if this what caused my attention to drift or if I was merely confused with each tale not constantly coinciding with the last. But once the characters finally meet and unite under a single goal things start to get interesting. Amrodan may not be as genuinely good as he so fantastically portrays.

I found the storyline itself to be exciting and action packed with a number of twists that easily shocked and surprised at each turn. Ultimately the story is original and unique and so is the way it is delivered to readers. I feel that there is much more to this story and there will likely be some great tales to follow on.

Overall I enjoyed this book Shadowless and would recommend it to readers who enjoy fantasy and action. Something a little different to the gods of old. I give this book a rating of 8.5/10 stars.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Recommendations: Sorcery of Thorns, by Margaret Rogerson (2019).

Something about this title made me take a second look. Could be my love of anything remotely fantasy, or the fact my first beloved series which introduced me to the fantasy genre was based around the concept of witchcraft and the learned magic of witches. Whatever the reason, I think it could be worth the read.

Abstract

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire, and Elisabeth is implicated in the crime. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined.

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Serpent & Dove, by Shelby Mahurin (2019).

This looks like this could be worth a 2nd look!

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Abstract

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

To check this out on kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Suggestions: Bid My Soul Farewell, by Beth Revis (2019)

Love this cover.

Could really be worth the look.

I feel it’s something I will have to take a second look at.

Abstract

Lunar Island is trying to heal. The necromantic plague that ravaged the land has been eradicated, and Emperor Auguste, the young and charming leader of the Allyrian Empire, has a plan: rid the island of necromancy once and for all. Though Greggori “Grey” Astor wants what’s best for his people, he knows that allying himself with Auguste threatens the one person he loves most: necromancer Nedra Brysstain. Feeling like he already failed to save Nedra once, Grey becomes determined to help the Emperor rebuild Lunar Island while still keeping Nedra safe from harm. 

Back at the quarantine hospital, Nedra’s army of revenants are growing increasingly inhuman by the day. Wracked with guilt for imprisoning their souls, Nedra vows to discover a way to free the dead while still keeping her sister by her side. 

But still reeling from the trauma of the plague, the people of Lunar Island are looking for someone to blame, and Grey can only protect Nedra for so long. And when Nedra and Grey are thrust into a battle with an even more terrifying adversary, Nedra will be pushed to the darkest depths of her necromantic powers. But can Grey let her go that far?

To check this out on Kindle click here

Posted in Fantasy Fiction

Book Recommendations: A Touch of Gold, by Annie Sullivan (2018).

Gold is wealth. Wealth is power. Power is a curse. This captivating fantasy adventure—the untold story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold—will dazzle you with the kind of action, adventure, twists, turns, and a bit of romance to make any fan of magic and mythology greedy for more.

Abstract

After King Midas’s gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, he relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secret powers that are getting harder to hide.

Kora spends her days concealed behind gloves and veils. It isn’t until a charming duke arrives that Kora believes she could indeed be loved. But their courtship is disrupted when a thief steals treasures her father needs to survive. Thanks to Kora’s unique ability to sense gold, she sails off on her quest to find the missing items.

Magic, mythology, fantasy, and pirate adventures charge through every page as Kora learns that not everything is what it seems—not her companions, not the thieves, and not even Kora herself.

To check this out on Kindle click here